Archive for May, 2010

ASPIRE End of Year Celebration

The 2009-10 ASPIRE academic year concluded on Thursday evening May 13, 2010.  The ending program featured a panel of first year teachers who provided insights and advice based on experiences in schools in all three counties in the state.  Among the insights provided, specifically to English Education majors, was the importance of focusing on lesson planning earlier in their preparation and learning about the Delaware curriculum standards.  See the Alumni Page for more information on the panel discussion.

The ASPIRE community also welcomed 2010-11 Officers Elect who will serve as co-leaders with current officers during the 2010 Fall Semester and assume responsibility for ASPIRE activities during the 2011 Spring Semester.

Huong Nguyen, Secretary; Amber Beaman, Treasurer; Anh Nguyen, Historian; Jessica Davis, Vice President; and Quindara Lazenbury, President

ASPIRE Students and Alumna Honored


 ASPIRE Members with 2010 DE Teacher of the Year, Mary Pinkston and Anthony Mullen, the 2009 National Teacher of the Year.

On Tuesday, May 4, 2010 the University Council on Teacher Education and the Delaware Center for Teacher Education hosted an education awards and recognition program.  The program was supported by ING and featured Anthony J. Mullen, a NYC teacher and the 2009 Teacher of the Year.  Mr. Mullen gave an engaging talk on Recovering Lost Students.

The awards ceremony featured presentations to students across the four colleges that graduate students who are prepared to teach, as well as discipline-based honors recognizing students in mathematics, Italian, history, political science, Spanish, chemistry, and English.

ASPIRE VP, Kara Cashwell, was honored as the first student to receive the Sue O’Day Pritchett Scholarship for achievement.  ASPIRE President, Taria Pritchett, received the Sophomore Student of Achievement award which is sponsored by Delta Kappa Gamma.  Taria, along with Emily Fenn, President of Teach for America’s UD student group, presented the Legacy of Achievement award to the 2010 DE Teacher of the Year and ASPIRE Alumna, Mary Pinkston.

ASPIRE End of School Year Meeting

The semester is coming to a close….ASPIRE must conclude the year with style and grace!
Thursday, May 13, 2010